Ideally…

As our blogging assignments come to an end, I look back and think of the pros and cons of each of the four writing spaces I have explored. My last assignment is to take different elements from those sites and create my ideal writing space; the features, the layout, and any add-ins to make the site easy and enjoyable to use. Lets start with the first writing space we were assigned, the ZenPen. This was by far one of my favorite writing space we had used. I liked the layout of the site; a small task bar that won’t distract you and I really liked the option for fullscgHLGRDRreen mode, blocking out all things on a computer that cause the brain to wander. Those two elements would definitely be a part of my writing space if I were to create one.

Though I did not like Google Docs, mainly for the layout of the text and images (its not very blog friendly), I did like that it had the options for adding links, images, changing the font and other important features a task bar should have. I am iffy about the sharing and multiple user feature that Google Docs has.

screenshots_docs_1

 

It can be very useful for documents that need multiple contributors, but if you are trying to type something and somebody else tries to work on that section of the document as well, it is a pain. I also like that it automatically saves your work as you type, and you can share that document with others and they can view or make changes to it as well. In my ideal work space, I would also include easy access to adding links and media and have the site automatically save any work done.

From the response I did on the notebook on my cell phone and the response on the typewriter, I would not have any elements from either of those on my ideal work space. The notepad on the phone was way too complicated to compile a blog post; there were too many spelling errors, no room for media or links, and you had to retype it onto WordPress when you were done. The typewriter as well. I found it extremely difficult to type on both devices and neither are user friendly. I enjoy adding links, pictures, videos, and switching up the layout of my blog posts, so the elements from the four that we explored that I chose to incorporate into my word space would work the best in accomplishing the most creative blog. I would also include easy access to adding Twitter feeds and Facebook profiles because I think that they are the most important way that one can get their ideas and blogs to others.

Leave a comment